It represents sacred, hidden valleys consecrated by the Guru Rinpoche in the 8th century. According to Nyingma beliefs, he is said to have empowered 108 havens for Buddhist practisers to progress in Buddhism in future. At times, when the spiritual tradition gets corrupt and the people fear to practice Buddhism peacefully, these sacred lands will be suitable for saintly escalation. These places are concealed with termas (hidden treasures). It can be in lakes, caves, forests or mountains etc. So, tertons (the spiritual treasure finders) are responsible to find such gateways overlapping physical and spiritual worlds. Yullha, local deities protect Dharma and concealed lands. Protective forces may manifest as snowstorms, mists, snow leopards or mystical Yeti.

There are 7 major beyuls hidden in lap of Himalayas. And Nepal bears 4 sacred valleys and they are;

  1. Kyimolung in Gorkha District
  2. Namgo Dagam in Rasuwa District
  3. Yolmo in Sindupalchowk District and
  4. Khenpalung in Sankhuwasabha District.

1. Kyimolung in Gorkha district

The word ‘Kyimolung’ means the Valley of Happiness. It lies in the remote borderlands of Gorkha district near the home to Mount Manaslu. It extends over Tsum and Nubri valleys in the high remote lands and borders Tibet in the North, Sikkim in the east, Swat valley (Pakistan) in the west, India in the south. The valley was first revealed in the 17th century. The indigenous people, Tsumba and Ghale are the first settlers in this region, living from 14th century and following the teaching of Guru Rinpoche and Bon traditions. They are the local protectors. Trekking to Tsum Valley provides an opportunity to witness Shangri-la in Nepal. In ancient times, it was a popular route to Nepal and Tibet for exchange of goods and movement of people to-and-fro and it stills continues this day.  The Buddhist saint Milarepa is believed to have meditated in the caves of this region.

2. Namgo Dagam in Rasuwa district

 It is another valley of Heavenly Gate Half Moon in Rasuwa.

Write A Comment